Skip to main content

Curley Family Library main page: Friends Romans and Countrymen

Assignment Parameters

Friends, Romans, Countrymen!


The basis of democracy, republic, and power are all a driving force behind the conflicts between Caesar, the commoners, and the Senators in Julius Caesar.  

Using the library databases and appropriate research methods (wikipedia use will be given an incomplete grade; 2 incompletes will result in a 0).  You must use 2 different sources and cite them using proper MLA format.

You must find the functions of the following words; they must be used seamlessly in your essay:
Senator
Caesar
Praetor
Consul

Your paper should be set up with four paragraphs:  
  1. Introduction
    1. Use an attention getter to draw audience into paper
    2. Introduce key points
    3. Make a thesis statement (the point you are trying to make in the paper)
  2. Body 1
    1. How is the Roman government set up?
    2. What are the different functions
  3. Body 2
    1. Compare and contrast how the Roman Government mirrors ours
    2. Do these points make the Republic of Rome stronger or weaker
  4. Conclusion
    1. Illustrate scenes from the first two Acts that are accurate representations of the Roman government.
    2. Restate thesis
    3. End with a quote from the first two acts ABOUT government, power, or corruption.

NOTES:
  • Must be size 12 font (times new roman of calibri) and double spaced (-5 if not followed)
  • Follow Rules of Formal Writing (the sheet with the man in jail, -1 for each error).
  • Scored on the Domain Scale.
  • Attach this to the cover (-5 if not attached to front of essay).
  • Bring a flashdrive to class if you own one to transport your work to and from school.

Places to begin to search

“Consul." Columbia Electronic Encyclopedia, 6th Edition (2011): 1. MAS Ultra - School Edition. Web. 18 Nov. 2011.

 

"Governance in the Roman Republic" fromWorld History Encyclopedia.  Ed. Alfred J. Andrea and Carolyn Neel.Vol. 3: Roman Republic and Empire, 264 B.C.E.- 476 C.E.. Detroit: Gale Group, 2001. p198-202.

 

McGill, Sara Ann. "Ancient Roman Government." Ancient Roman Government (2009): 1. MasterFILE Premier. Web. 18 Nov. 2011.

 

"Occupations of the Elite" from World Eras. Ed. John T. Kirby. Vol. 3: Roman Republic and Empire, 264 B.C.E.- 476 C.E.. Detroit: Gale Group, 2001. p198-202.

 

 

"Politics in the Roman Republic" from World History Encyclopedia. Ed. Alfred J. Andrea and Carolyn Neel. Vol. 5: Era 3: Classical Traditions, 1000 BCE-300 CE. Santa Barbara, CA: ABC-CLIO, 2011. p350-351.

 

“Praetor." Columbia Electronic Encyclopedia, 6th Edition (2011): 1. MAS Ultra - School Edition. Web. 18 Nov. 2011.

 

ebooks: 

 

 

 

Finer, S. E. History of Government from the Earliest Times. Vol. 1, Ancient Monarchies and Empires Oxford University Press (US), 1999. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost). Web. 18 Nov. 2011.

Please begin with the section labeled Consuls on page 402.

 

 

Santosuosso, Antonio. Storming The Heavens : Soldiers, Emperors, And Civilians In The Roman Empire. Westview Press, 2001. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost). Web. 18 Nov. 2011.

 

    

Zoch, Paul A. Ancient Rome : An Introductory History. University of Oklahoma Press, 1998. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost). Web. 18 Nov. 2011.

In this book you will want to check out chapter 6 The Res Publica "Senatus Populusque Romanus".

 

 

 

 

 

Search ABC Clio Ancient HIstory